Do I need to keep my plastic GC with me?

creack

Registered Users (C)
I've just received my GC today and I wonder if I've to keep it with me always.
I fear to lose it and the strip in metal at the back seems fragile.
Does a simple copy enough for every day life?

You don't need the GC for "daily life", just a copy will do. You must however have access to the actual card and must be able to produce it at a short notice. If you travel to border areas you might want to carry the actual card with you to avoid any inconvenience.

Last edited by a moderator:
Remember that since INS loves you - then you can return a favor and just have the GC with you. And you will get rewarded with a smile from an inspector at the airport. It is such a lovely organization. So you would not want to do it if anything for the lovely organization that helps monitor you until you get your citizenship?

====================
I am not a lawyer and this is not a legal advice.

Does the law state that you carry it? Yes, but I am not sure who and how someone would enforce that. If you get in trouble and they ask for it, then you can always produce it within an hour or two.

Should you carry it? Well that depends on you. Many on this board have carried it for years. I have spent enough time in this country where I don't look and sound like an illegal, and i highly doubt ICE is tracking me so I don't carry it with me. I think the chances of losing it are increased if you carry it on you. No one has ever asked me my immigration status in this country (except when applying for a job), and I doubt they will start now and ask me to produce proof. Unless traveling out of the country, I do not carry it (not even for domestic trips, and I travel frequently)

Does the law state that you carry it? Yes, but I am not sure who and how someone would enforce that. If you get in trouble and they ask for it, then you can always produce it within an hour or two.