Bachelors Degree - "or equivalent" ?

canucked08

Registered Users (C)
Would 2 years of work experience in the field equal a bahelors degree? I'm trying to determine if my position is "professional" or nonprofessional

Thanks!!

Don't understand - this for equivalency?

It goes like this - let's say you have a two year diploma in something - basket weaving. And then you spend the next six years basket weaving. If you use an outside credentialing service, they will look at your first two years of schooling as counting towards the first two years of a bachelor's degree, and then for every three years after that, they will count that towards that as one more year of a university degree.

So then what do you have? Or is your question something different?

I have a 3 year diploma, and 5 years experience.

The ad that was placed only asked for 2 years experience - and did not mention education.

the 9089 form states professional job requires bachelors degree "or equivalent"
Do I have the equivalent?

Are you kiddin' me? !!!! That means anyone and his mother can apply.

The add\ should have read: Bachelor's degree or equivalent plus two years experience.

I think you're going to get screwed on this. Who came up with the ad? There are very strict requirements for how the ad needs to be written. I'd be surprised if DOL will even accept the ad for PERM.

Your 3 year diploma plus 5 years would be the equivalent of a bachelor's degree. In your case only the first three count as that gets you the last (4th) year that you need for the degree as long as it was earned at another employer.

You also need to get your credentials evaluated for equivalency to a degree.

I like these guys. http://www.fis-web.com/eval.html

I think you have a long way to go - I'll be shocked of DOL approves it.