RTD Taken away in LAX - GC Holder

ccordova624

Registered Users (C)
Hello Everybody,

This is my last experience entering thr U.S with my GC and RTD in LAX from Europe.

Some background:
Received my RTD on March 2007 (Status Asylee)
Received my GC on June 2007

When I arrived from AMS in LAX the officer scaned my GC and then asked me what document did I use to enter Spain, I told him my RTD, he asked for it and saw that on the RTD it said Asylee... so he sent me to secondary inspection.

In secondary inspection the officer told me that I am a permanent resident and I should not be using a RTD with asylee status... I explained the officer that my GC just arrived a few months ago and I already had my RTD with my EU visa and I had travel plans... he said fine but you should not be using this document and he let me go...

At the door of the secondary inspection a woman officer (latino) checked all my documents again and told the other officer why he didnt take away my RTD, and asked him to take it. He told her, but it still good till next year... and the woman told him, yes but he ha another status so take it away... so he did. The woman officer told me in a very rude way that this document is no good no more and that I had to apply for my NP... at that point I was so tired to argue with her and told her "whatever"... and left...

I feel frustrated it... do I suppossed to apply for my NP??? I am a GC holder now... my consulate will issue me a passport with no problems...

I feel upset that I lost my RTD. If Iapply for a new one its almost $400...
In addition, I hate to lose my RTD since there are record of my trips abroad for my citizeship...

Same thing happened to me last year. I applied again & I wrote a nasty mail & notified my senator, they returned my check & gave me a new RP in 3 weeks. This happened last november.