Open a business

echo2net

Registered Users (C)
I'm going to register a limited corporation of which I own 30% next week. I'm a Canadian Citizen.

Can I use this corporation to apply for a new TN (as an full-time or part-time accountant)?

Or Can I keep and run this company after I extend my current TN?

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
No. This is self-sponsorship.
You (regardless of how you structure yourself) need to be hired by an arm's length US sponsor.

CBP will see through this sham.

Will you accountants stop at nothing? Haven't you learned yet?

Nelsona:

Thanks for your quick response, I won't use it to sponsor my TN.
But I do need to open a business, I know as a foreigner I can register a company, but in no way I can get paid from it, correct? A little confused, what should I do with the profit at end of each year (even I'm an accountant).

Thanks again

I know as a foreigner I can register a company, but in no way I can get paid from it, correct? A little confused, what should I do with the profit at end of each year (even I'm an accountant).

The prohibition against self-sponsorship goes two ways. While your corporation cannot sponsor you, I believe the corporation can pay you if you are using it to channel revenue from your TN sponsors.

Payment can be accepted from any entity. It is unsponsored work that is a problem. If you do not do work, you are fine.

Nelsona:

Thank you for your information, your answer is very inspiring, investing in a company is just like investing in stock market, anybody can do it and get paid as dividend.

Thanks again

Yup. As long as you have another, real, TN job, you are free to remain in US on TN, and then invest in a company, so long as you are a silent partner.