GC for my new born kid in India

kcr

Registered Users (C)
Hi

We are GC holders and my wife is pregnant and want to have child in India. How to apply for GC for new born baby in India and how long it will takes?

Thanks for the help.

We are GC holders and my wife is pregnant and want to have child in India. How to apply for GC for new born baby in India and how long it will takes?

Your child should accompany you on your first return to the US after its birth; the paperwork will be completed at the POE.

Child will also need birth certificate with mother and father name on it and Indian passport.

http://mumbai.usconsulate.gov/legal_permanent_residents.html

I am a legal permanent resident of the U.S. While I was outside the U.S., I gave birth to a child. Now I wish to return to the U.S. May I take my child with me?

As outlined in 9 FAM 42.1 N1.1, a child under two years of age who was born of a Permanent Resident Alien mother during temporary visit abroad does not require an immigrant visa in order to travel to the United States if the alien parent is in possession of a valid Form I-551 (i.e., green card), a valid reentry permit, or an SB-1 visa. The child must be admitted to the U.S. within two years of birth and the accompanying parent must be applying for readmission upon first return after the birth of the child. We suggest that the accompanying parent carry documentary evidence of his or her relationship to the child, including the child's passport and birth certificate.