• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

DV 2021 AOS Only

I am not a lawyer or expert in this area, just based on logical assumptions I do not expect them to wait until our bio is done and then start the BG check. In my view, albeit they claim differently, they start the BG check right after when our package is delivered and they see our application. Especially during the pandemic, many cases would fail if they do it after bio. BTW, I have the same feeling/belief about BG check of visa applications too.
Initial background check gets done before the bio completion, yes. However, there are additional checks that gets initiated following the bio appointment also. Most people who already cleared the initial background check tend to clear the additional checks following the bio capture within a very short period of time. The captured prints gets run through the system to ensure there are no other undisclosed names matching an applicant's prints that could be linked to some criminal activities.

My OPT expires in 5 days since I could not find a job. I know this is going to be considered as a likelihood of being a public charge but my uncle is sponsoring me, plus, the public rule is no longer in effect. Will this have any other negative impact during the interview?

My OPT expires in 5 days since I could not find a job. I know this is going to be considered as a likelihood of being a public charge but my uncle is sponsoring me, plus, the public rule is no longer in effect. Will this have any other negative impact during the interview?
Public charge consideration is still very much in effect. What is no longer in effect is the Self Sufficiency requirement. If someone is providing you with an I-134, yes that will be enough to help you overcome public charge concerns should the IO have any such concern.

* GREEN CARD DELIVERED TODAY *