• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

DV 2019 All Selectees

yes.. her has two other names; Elvis Amoako was stated.... The surname Kyei was omited

Is there some kind of ID number that goes on the marriage certificate? Or at least a birth date that hopefully matches his birth certificate and passport?
Is it common to leave a last name off a marriage certificate where you are?

Btw re your previous questions on the education documents, I don’t think those will be a problem.

Lets hope that we both get to go to the interview, my CN is EU229xx. I have similar plans, I have my degree already but need to pass the USMLE exams before I can apply for a job in the US, so working in my home country makes a lot more sense until I get my qualifications in order. If I get the GC, I plan on applying for a re-entry permit that is valid for 2 years, so that I can make my final move to the US later. You just need to remember to file your taxes even if you don't live in the US.

as far as I know you have to pay taxes while not living only if you hold a citizenship, yet I might be wrong

On the subject of tax with regards to capital gains tax on the sale of my primary place of residence. Do I only need to worry about this after I've gone for my activation trip and handed in the documentation at the border?

I was planning on selling my home after the consulate visit and being confirmed for the green card and I believe if I have it sold prior to entering the US for the first time I could avoid paying CGT as an american for tax purposes. I'm Australian if that helps and I don't pay CGT on my home when sold.

On the subject of tax with regards to capital gains tax on the sale of my primary place of residence. Do I only need to worry about this after I've gone for my activation trip and handed in the documentation at the border?