How do an illegal immigrant marry without ID?

ballplayas12

Registered Users (C)
Hello this is my first time posting on here!! Seems like a GREAT site and I hope you guys can help us through this. My girlfriend and I want to get married in NJ after being together for 3yrs, and start our own life. She came to this county legally,but overstayed. She doesn't have any ID or social security number, but I know she has a college ID and birth certificate and passport. Can we still get married? Also in her passport its stamped as if she's in her home country. would this cause us problems? We want to get married and live together, but have no idea where to start or what to do. It would also be nice if we can talk to or find a friend who has been in our situation to help us. Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks everyone!! I

You don't need a state ID to get married, the birth certificate should be fine. Also you shouldn't need a SS#.

You'll be fine. If you're worried to much, go get married in Vegas, they don't care who they marry there. :D

Also in her passport its stamped as if she's in her home country. would this cause us problems?

Could you elaborate on this. Why is her passport stamped "as if she's in her home country"?

Does USCIS have a record of her return to the US?

Does the passport contain the I-94 issued to her upon re-entry??

This could potentially be a huge problem. If she was never issued an I-94 then it is assumed she entered the country without inspection in which case she would be ineligible to adjust her status (or lack thereof).

reply to giovanni

Could you elaborate on this. Why is her passport stamped "as if she's in her home country"?

Does USCIS have a record of her return to the US?

Does the passport contain the I-94 issued to her upon re-entry??