giving up GC - can I get an H1B later?

easyrider

Registered Users (C)
Hi all,
Here is my dilemma: I got my EB green card in April 2007 (I'm a physician, did my residency on H1B, then got a job which sponsored me for GC). Unfortunately, some unforseen family circumstances require me to leave the US and stay away for an extended period of time and I cannot predict how long it will be. So if I decide to give up my GC and leave the US and then decide to come back later on a H1B, provided I can find a job and an sponsoring employer, is this going to be a problem, given that I will have abandoned my PR status already? If I do get the H1B, will I be eligible to refile for employment-based green card once again?
Thank you very much in advance!

Hi all,
Here is my dilemma: I got my EB green card in April 2007 (I'm a physician, did my residency on H1B, then got a job which sponsored me for GC). Unfortunately, some unforseen family circumstances require me to leave the US and stay away for an extended period of time and I cannot predict how long it will be. So if I decide to give up my GC and leave the US and then decide to come back later on a H1B, provided I can find a job and an sponsoring employer, is this going to be a problem, given that I will have abandoned my PR status already? If I do get the H1B, will I be eligible to refile for employment-based green card once again?
Thank you very much in advance!

You should apply for and obtain a reentry permit before you leave. It is only valid for 2 years, but if your stay abroad ends up being less than 2 years, you don't have to go through the green card process again. If your stay abroad does exceed 2 years, you can apply at the embassy for a special immigrant returning resident visa (SB-1) if you can show that your extended stay was due to reasons beyond your control (your situation seems to fit the requirement). Again, you won't have to go through the whole green card process again.