Filing for naturalization after almost 10 years

rjmco

Registered Users (C)
I've been a Permanent Resident since 1999, got married to an American citizen in 2001 (when I'm already a Permanent Resident). My question is, do I file based on 5 years being an immigrant or based on 3 years of marriage? Someone please explain it to me. My green card is expiring by the end of this year. Thank you.

You have a choice between filing under 3 year marriage to US citizen or 5 years as LPR.
Filing under 5 year rule involves a little less paperwork and proof, so it's the suggested way to go.

Sorry Bob,

I think here you are mis-informed. The 3 year is the option soley based on the marriage based GC, 5 year is everything past that.

If the IO looks at the GC and sees that you have it for 5+ years, he will change your application.

I've been a Permanent Resident since 1999, got married to an American citizen in 2001 (when I'm already a Permanent Resident). My question is, do I file based on 5 years being an immigrant or based on 3 years of marriage? Someone please explain it to me. My green card is expiring by the end of this year. Thank you.

5 years is better because you don't need to provide doc like
marriage certificate etc. no need to worry abotu what happen
if divorce happens before appication is processed.

Sorry Bob,

I think here you are mis-informed. The 3 year is the option soley based on the marriage based GC, 5 year is everything past that.

If the IO looks at the GC and sees that you have it for 5+ years, he will change your application.

The OP has the choice to file under either option on the N-400 application as he meets the requirements of either. It's up to the IO's discretion to change it to 5 years at the interview if applicant files under 3 year but is otherwise eligible for 5.