Overstayed 9 months and now wants to return to the US

Jaytheo

I overstayed my allowable time by 9 months back in 2015. I'm from Brazil and had a B1B2 tourist VISA - I travelled across the US for almost 6 months and before I was about to leave i met someone in Florida. John was from Canada and he made trips to see me every 2 weeks for the next few months. I voluntarily left in Dec 2015 and went back to Brazil where we got married. I should of applied for an extension but did not. So, my understanding is that because i overstayed more than 180 days but less than 1 year there is a 3 year ban being inadmissable to the US. I presently am married to John, I am a permanent resident in Canada living in Toronto. We own a home together, I have a job and plan on pursuing my law degree here in Toronto. My husband would like to take me to NY and have applied for a B1B2 visa as I'm sure the other has been cancelled. Any suggestions or input regarding an interview I have next week. I have never tried to re enter the US in the past 3 years. I'm guessing approval for my VISA is 50/50. Thanks in advance for any input.

Any suggestions? Yeah, answer truthfully to whatever is asked. The rest would be up to the CO to decide whether or not to approve you.

PR status in Canada and the job work in your favor, but I have my doubts as you're itching to get into the US so soon after the ban's over. Plus the fact that you violated the terms of your previous visa. How did you support yourself during the presumably 15 months in the US on a B2? Did you work illegally?

Suggestion is to truthfully answer any and all questions asked when you go for the interview.

And I hope you truthfully answered length of previous stay question on the DS160 to reflect your 9 months overstay.

Suggestion is to truthfully answer any and all questions asked when you go for the interview.

And I hope you truthfully answered length of previous stay question on the DS160 to reflect your 9 months overstay.