TN visa cancelled, what are my options?

justifun

Registered Users (C)
I've been working in the US on 2 different TN visa's for the past 2 years with 2 different companies. Upon going to the border to get another one for the same company that i'm presently working for, the border claims that my original 2 were given to me incorrectly and that I am actually not qualified for receiving a new TN. They have given me 2 weeks (when my current TN expires) to pack up and leave the country.

I need more time to pack up my things and take care of my car etc. Due to the circumstances of my TN being cancelled, can i still apply for an extention of stay (i-539?) Or can i come back to the country as a visitor for period of time?

If so, i'm guessing that would be a B2 visa? How long do you they would grant me a visit?

What other options do i have that i might not of thought of?

Why didn't you mail it like I have told everyone else on this forum a thousand times!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was working near the border and never expected that i would have been denied based on how well the previous 2 times went. I thought i would have been in and out.

Here's an update as to what i've found out so far. (from talking to the US and canadian borders)

I can leave my belongings in the US and have them shipped up at a later point. This includes my car. I can import it into canada in the future.

Since i lived in the US for over a year, and most of my belongings were from when i originally moved to the US from canada, I am exempt from paying taxes and some duties on all items valued under $10000 which i'm importing back into canada (except anything less than 6 months old). Taxes and duties would only apply the difference of the car if its valued over $10000.

I can return to the US as a visitor for up to 6 months since im a canadian citizen. This will allow me to tie up all my lose ends and figure out my next step.

Am i allowed to try again via mail?