Time to renew TN: Is it better to send I-129 via mail or go to customs

projectpete19

Registered Users (C)
Hello,

I currently have a TN visa, it expires June 29 so I need to renew it and this is my first time renewing it. Is the process different from when I went to get my TN the first time or is it the exact same process. Is it better to send the form in the mail or go to the border and talk to the agent there?

Also I seem to have misplaced my passport that had my current visa, do they need to see my previous visa or that doesnt matter?

If your TN was straightforward, and you plan to be going to canada in mid-jun, then I would opt for border processing, which is identiacl to what you did last year. All that changes is the letter (make current). You generally can't get a new TN for the same job until 2-3 weeks before expiry.

If you aren't planning to travel at that time, OR if there was problems with your TN last year, then opt for I-129. It does take some time so send in soon. You do get 240 days grace after expiry as long as you send it in before expiry.

Your passport is another issue. You do need a copy of your I-94 to submit with I-129. You also need to ALWAYS have your I-94 accessible: it's your permission to be in US leaglly. I would be hunting for my PP right now, and then put it in a secure spot.

Last year I mailed a TN application in April. It was approved in October.

USCIS just got 65k H1B’s and I suspect they will process most of them before they look at your file.

Either way to get your new TN status. Many people have a fear of the in person border experience and opt to getting their new TN through the mail compared to the border. If you don't care, or had as mentioned a straight forward case, it would be the quickest if you have access to a border.