TD visa timing

misha75

Registered Users (C)
Hi,

My wife will have to apply for TD visa in US consulate in Vancouver since she is not a Canadian Citizen yet. Anybody knows how long does it take to issue TD visa?

Thanks.

it depends how long will it take for the name check to come through. and that depends on her nationality too. the avarage for a name check is 4 weeks but it may take longer.

What is "name check"? Sorry for possibly silly question. I'm new to all this.

She has regular valid visitor visa to the USA. And we married in Canada.

I am assuming she is landed?

If so, GO, repeat, GO with her to a border crossing point, and make sure u carry all documents validating your marriage, and her legal status in Canada. She should get her TD right there.

If you do not go with her, and she accompanies you to US later (i.e. after wrapping up your business in Canada), she will get a B1/B2 visa, which expires within 6 months, and you have to file I-539(?) to change her status to TD.

Always keep your notice of action forms sent to you, to track processing via phone or e-mail using the reciept number

I am assuming she is landed?

If so, GO, repeat, GO with her to a border crossing point, and make sure u carry all documents validating your marriage, and her legal status in Canada. She should get her TD right there.

If you do not go with her, and she accompanies you to US later (i.e. after wrapping up your business in Canada), she will get a B1/B2 visa, which expires within 6 months, and you have to file I-539(?) to change her status to TD.

Always keep your notice of action forms sent to you, to track processing via phone or e-mail using the reciept number

Read his first post - she needs to get a consular visa - therefore, he CANNOT accompany her. It's the consulate they need to go, NOT the border crossing..

huh?