Tax issue

luk12

Registered Users (C)
I am a US permanent resident and temporarily working in Canada. In order to maintain my residential status in US, I need to declare the worldwide income for tax purpose. Here comes to the question. Which type of form should I use to file tax return? Will it be same as the one I used before while I was in US? I heard that there is $80,000 (US) tax exemption for the income earned abroad, which means that the income is not taxable if it is below $80,000 (US).

Anybody has the same situation? Please share your experience. Thanks in advance.

luk12 said:
I am a US permanent resident and temporarily working in Canada. In order to maintain my residential status in US, I need to declare the worldwide income for tax purpose. Here comes to the question. Which type of form should I use to file tax return? Will it be same as the one I used before while I was in US? I heard that there is $80,000 (US) tax exemption for the income earned abroad, which means that the income is not taxable if it is below $80,000 (US).

Anybody has the same situation? Please share your experience. Thanks in advance.

Read pub 519.

You might want to check out IRS publication 54, which has information about taxpayers working abroad:

http://www.irs.gov/publications/p54/ar02.html

[highlights]

1) I qualify for the foreign earned income exclusion and earned more than $80,000 during the year. Am I entitled to the maximum $80,000 exclusion?

Not necessarily. Although you qualify for the foreign earned income exclusion, you may not have met either the bona fide residence test or the physical presence test for your entire tax year. If you did not meet either of these tests for your entire tax year, you must prorate the $80,000 maximum exclusion based on the number of days that you did meet either test during the year.

2) How do I qualify for the foreign earned income exclusion?