RFE from BCIS (!Strange!)

pungaa

Registered Users (C)
I have a Bachelors in Civil Engineering and I have 7 years experience in Software. I have been working on a H1 for the last 5 years.

I had applied for my H1 Visa extension last November and Recently received a RFE from BCIS questioning the sufficiency of my academic credentials. The letter stated that i do not have a Computer Engineering Degree and neither do i have 6 years Experience BCIS recommends in order to be given the equivalent of a CS degree.

The intriguing part is that this is an application for extension (not a new one) and at the time of application i had 6+ years of experience. Now i have 7 years experience. They have approved my H1 Application 3 times before even though at that i had even less experience then i have now.

Can anyone guide me what i can do to convince BCIS of my qualifications. Did my lawyer mess up my application ?

Any help is appreciated.

Send the proof of experience. It might have been missed. As a non computer engg. professional you have to to submit proof of experience everytime ...

I have a follow up question on years of experience BCIS will consider for my H1-B extension.

I had

4.5 - Years of experience i had when i started my current job.
6.5 - Years of experience when i applied for extension of Visa.
7 - years of experience currently.

Out of the above three numbers which one will BCIS accept.

If they will accept only 4.5 years. then what options do i have to prove my qualifications.

I am also in a similar position like you. I have a bachelor degree in Mathematics, but
I also have computer science diploma. I had applied for the H1B extension last
December, but recently I received an RFE questing about my educational
background.

Prior to join my current employer, I had around 3 years 6 months experience. Over
all I have around 6 Years 6 months experience as of now.

Have you respond to your RFE ?. How are you going to justify your educational