New TN 3-yr rule and TN >> GC route

Canadian2GC

Registered Users (C)
I am new to this, very confused needless to say.

I am here on TN, trying to get my GC. My attorney said the safest way to start the GC process is to apply for the H1B lottery. He advised against going the TN >> GC route, he said too risky if not timed properly.

I read CuriousGeorge's long thread as well as others who said they went straight to GC from TN, contrary to what my attorney said.

My question for the forum:

If the new TN 3-year status rule becomes reality, do you guys think it will be easier to go the TN >> GC route since we will have 3 years instead of 1 year to work with?

I want to get my GC ASAP , but my attorney suggested that I try the H1B lottery and then apply based on EB3 category. The odds are 50/50 at best for the H1B, it may be years before I win the visa, I am worried my company will change their mind about sponsoring my GC if I wait any longer....

Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated....Thanks

also, if you guys have a REALLY knowledgeable attorney who has done many many TN>>GC cases before, can you send me a private message ????? (moderator, you can delete this last sentence if this violates forum rules)

Last edited by a moderator:
The 3-yr rule will make it slightly easier, as you won't have to worry so much about timing the submission of I-485. But one will still have to remain in US pending approval of the EAD to work and AP to travel.

as to your lawyers claim that the H1 route is 'safer'. Of course it is; so what? Driving to work in a HUM-V is safer too, but it is not timely and financially viable, is it.

You will have your EAD and AP before you even submit your lottery ticket if you act now, 3-yr rule or not.

The 3-yr rule will make it slightly easier, as you won't have to worry so much about timing the submission of I-485. But one will still have to remain in US pending approval of the EAD to work and AP to travel.