Need advice?

sater2006

Hi, one of my friends who are originally from Iraq, his B1 visa (90 days) has been approved.
my questions is?
*could he apply for asylum while he carried a visa and where he should doing that at the airport or inside the country?
*what is the Iraqi people situation regarding asylum in usa?
*what is the difference between asylum & refugee?

Thank you

I'm going to try to answer some of your questions, but I'm no lawyer.

The basic difference between asylee and refugee is that you apply to be an asylee when you are already in the US. In your friend's case, if he comes here with his B1 visa (which is a visitor's visa, right?), he has to apply for asylum within one year of being here. Also, he should never go into illegal status while in here.
On the other hand, a refugee is approved outside US. They get their papers to come here as refugees. I'm not familiar with that status or how to apply for it.

If anyone needs to correct this, please do so. I hope this helps to clear up some of your questions.

Your friend is in good standing now if wants to apply for asylum.

There are many ways people get asylum, but two are common. One is asking asylum when the asylum seeker is within the US terrotory. The other one is asking asylum at the port of entry. I don't know the location of your friend, but if he has visa and he is in the US, he should ask for asylum while his visa is still valid. If the visa expires, and he can't renew he will have difficult in applying for asylum and staying here. Also there is a one year limit on when to apply for asylum, which means asylum seekers must apply asylum within the first year of their presence in the US. If your friend is from Iraq, I am sure there is different asylum process for Iraqs. I don't if that process applies to all Iraqis in all times or a specific time period in the past.