Immigration Woes

Xenfinity

Registered Users (C)
Well my wife and I received a wonderful update from USCIS via mail today.

Read the letters yourself. The first letter is addressed to me. The first point is because I renewed by passport at some point. The new one they are asking for is my new passport. The second point was a little scary at first but after looking at my award letter it said nothing about having to be a US citizen/perm resident. Keep in mind that this is a private scholarship from a private university. I was interested by what they meant by "publicly available information". Well I searched online and lo and behold my school now lists that as a requirement for the scholarship. The issue that USCIS did not consider though is that may be true now but not 2 years ago when I was awarded this scholarship. From the day that I set foot at my school I have been an international student paying international rate (besides that scholarship). And the admissions staff knows about this and so does financial aid (in fact the officer that handle's my wife's and I's case can testify to this). In my original application I listed my then current immigration status as "pending AOS" which was correct for the time because back then I was a beneficiary to a now denied case of my mother.

The second letter was addressed to my wife. They basically intend to deny her petition because we failed to establish a spousal relationship. They said we needed insurance policies, property leases etc... We did submit two rental agreements, last year’s income tax forms, a shared bank account (with shared use), shared credit cards, shared utilities, cell phone, wedding pictures, official transcripts from the same school and 4 testimonies from friends (including our sponsor). My wife also transferred from her previous school into mine.