Im a newbie.. need N-400 help

LateKnight

Registered Users (C)
Hello, I am a 26 years old male and have been a Legal Resident of USA since 1993. I live in NY. I have not left the country since I came here from Honduras. I am applying for my U.S. Citizenship and I have been holding it off for a long time because I am afraid that my criminal history will have some affect on it.
My First charge was in 02/04/97 For a 2nd Degree Burglary. I completed six months probation and about 30 hours of community service. ( This charge I am not too worried about since it’s been 10 years and I know it was a misdemeanor plus I was under 18 at the time)
My second charge was in 04/22/99 ( I was 17 yrs old ) for criminal possession of marijuana 2nd degree ( PL221.25) which I understand is a Class D Felony. However, once I was sentenced ( I was 18yrs old ) 1 day after my birthday, I was Disposed with criminal possession of marijuana 4th degree
(PL 221.15) which is a class A misdemeanor.
I completed 3 years probation with flying colors, I completed an outpatient rehab treatment in 2001 and I spent months going to AA and NA working the 12 step program.

Since then, I have kept my record clean. I speak perfect English, Went to college for a few years and have been working Full time for over 4 years.

At this time I am filing the N-400 form, I understand I have to be 100% honest with everything. And I dont wanna miss anything.

My questions are:

On my 2nd charge, Which will they consider? The Original charge PL221.25 (Class D Felony) or
The disposed charge PL 221.15 ( Class A Misdemeanor) ?

Can I be penalized or deported with charges like the ones I have?

Can I be penalized or deported with charges that are older than 5 years?

Is it necessary for me to involve an attorney for the interview process because of my criminal history?

Last edited by a moderator:
On my 2nd charge, Which will they consider? The Original charge PL221.25 (Class D Felony) or