How may attending school in Canada affect my daughter's naturalization?

easybay

Registered Users (C)
My eldest daughter (20) is eligible to apply for citizenship, but we are holding off her application until she has 5 years of "good morale character" - PI charge during her first week of college. We will be waiting 3 years and plan to hire a lawyer for advice when submitting her application.

My question is - she is considering applying to 2 year BS nursing program in Canada. Is there allowances for the 5 year continuous residency requirement for going to school? Or will her 5 year continuous residency start from when she returns to the US?

Thanks!

I take it "PI" means Public Intoxication. Are you sure it's a barrier to citizenship now? I think I'd be consulting a lawyer right now. I'm no expert but I suspect going to school in Canada could easily interrupt her US residency or even threaten her green card.

Your daughter's scenario is exactly why I hustled to apply for citizenship as soon as I was able and then get my 16 year old a US passport too. Teenagers can make dumb mistakes (like the PI episode) or choose to go back to the home country for college. Studying in Canada is a very reasonable option for Canadians (we're from Canada too), but you don't want it to lead to a loss of the hard-won US LPR status. Young people don't always worry about the long term, and might let the LPR status go without appreciating that without US citizenship they don't have any right to live in their "other" home country, the US, whenever they feel like it. I'm breathing a sigh of relief that my teenager is now "safe" as a US citizen.

Are you sure it's a barrier to citizenship now?