Help! On F1 status, received 1099-Misc

worker89

Hi,

I am an international college student on F1 status. I own a website and I receive commissions for advertisements on my website.
I received 1099-MISC with income in Box 7 (nonemployee compensation). The income is small, only about 8 hundred dollars.

When I asked my school advisor how I should file tax, she told me that it is illegal for me to work and that my F1 status will be terminated if I am found out.

I have 2 questions
1) Will I really get into trouble, since I am not really working?
2) Do I need to file tax, since the amount I earned is less than what I spent to build my website?

thanks for all help
Dave

I personally don't think you'd get in trouble since you are not prevented from having income, you just can't work. Since your 1099 says - non-employee compensation, that might be a proof that you didn't work for them. I'd look into filing taxes anyway, and if your entire income is less than a certain limit, you may not need to file taxes at all.

worker89 said:
1) Will I really get into trouble, since I am not really working?
2) Do I need to file tax, since the amount I earned is less than what I spent to build my website?
1. you have started a business and are operating it. This is definately not in compliance with your F-1 status. There is no question you are 'working'.
2.You received a 1099, thus you should file a tax return. I am confident that you will not have to pay any taxes since the income is so low, but you still should file. However, filing will provide a paper trail that you have be operating a business which could be used as evidence against you by the USCIS.

Hi all,

what do u think is my best course of action?

Just file taxes and hope for the best?

thanks in advance
Dave