H1B to TN question

hjf

Registered Users (C)
I've been H1B working as Systems Analyst in US for 4 years. Now will apply for TN for a new job as Systems Analyst. I have a masters degree in public health. My question is: am I qualified? Does their system (at the border) has my records as a Systems Analyst under H1B? I'll bring TN letter and employment verification letter along with current I-797.

hjf said:
I've been H1B working as Systems Analyst in US for 4 years. Now will apply for TN for a new job as Systems Analyst. I have a masters degree in public health. My question is: am I qualified? Does their system (at the border) has my records as a Systems Analyst under H1B? I'll bring TN letter and employment verification letter along with current I-797.

They "system" probably has a record of you.

As far as qualification goes, it is a combination of education or experience. if you have 4 years experience, it doesn't matter what your degree is in, just as long as you have a degree.

Thanks eddie_d! but

Thanks for the answer! Another issue would be are they going to cancel my current H1B if I get the TN for the new job? I haven't notify my current employer. So can I continue to work for the current employer for two more weeks?

hjf said:
Thanks for the answer! Another issue would be are they going to cancel my current H1B if I get the TN for the new job? I haven't notify my current employer. So can I continue to work for the current employer for two more weeks?

Yep, your H1 is no longer valid when you get the TN, can't be on both at the same time. You'll probably get a new I-94 as well, I did when I went H1B to TN (but when I went TN to H1 I kept the same I-94 so I'm not sure if that is by design or someone screwed up).

eddie_d said:
As far as qualification goes, it is a combination of education or experience. if you have 4 years experience, it doesn't matter what your degree is in, just as long as you have a degree.