driver's license expiration date with green card

lada84

Registered Users (C)
I'm a conditional permanent resident and will be moving to the DC area in a few weeks. My conditional GC expires in about a year. Looking at DMV sites for DC, VA and MD, it seems that DC and VA will issue you a driver's license with an expiration date the same as your immigration document (in my case the conditional GC), while MD does not state anything to this effect. Do any of you have experience with this (in these states or others)? Are green card holders treated the same as people with non-immigrant status? I'm not looking forward to the hassle of renewing my driver's license every year (as will happen when I apply for removal of conditions).

Thanks.

In MD they will give you the standard 5 yr DL after they verify your status (regardless of its expiration). Its been a while since I lived in DC or VA so am not sure.

VA is tough. I have to renew license every year after I renew my EAD and it always expires on the same day that EAD expires I've been doing this since 2004. I know they only give DL for the duration you can prove legal presence....and pending I-485 is not enough

Guys, thanks for your responses. It looks like driving license laws are in constant flux -- things have changed quite recently in MD, as far as I understand. Dedo, when did you last get your license -- before or after June 1, 2009? Henryetta, I'm sorry about all that hassle -- sounds really tough, esp. if you really need to drive (which anywhere in the US you most likely have to).

I'm still deciding where to live in the area, so I thought I would look into the immigration side of things too. I guess one drawback of living in DC is that I would be without Senate/House representation, if I ever needed one.

In Missouri, the same rule about expiry date matching immig document exists. However, the DMV is specifically instructed to ignore the i-551 card expiry date, as it does not really mean expiry of status.