Criminal conviction outside the US

martinwerdel

Registered Users (C)
Hello,

I have been convicted (in my home country) in 1999 for theft...I got 5 months suspended sentence...The conviction is already expunged...
I have an appointmant in US Embassy in November...
I mentioned the conviction in ds-230...
Any comments???
What are my opportunity to obtain immigrant visa???

Thank you to all.........

More than 10 years from a conviction anywhere means the chances are as good as they can ever be with a conviction/arrest.

since its a single conviction your sentence was less than one year you'll be fine.

Hi,

I rescheduled my interview for February, so I am very confused about my conviction....
As I ment above (in one of my previous messages) I have been convicted...
Any suggestions????

INA Sec. 212. [8 U.S.C. 1182]

(a) Classes of Aliens Ineligible for Visas or Admission.-Except as otherwise provided in this Act, aliens who are inadmissible under the following paragraphs are ineligible to receive visas and ineligible to be admitted to the United States:

(2) Criminal and related grounds.-

(A) Conviction of certain crimes.-

(i) In general.-Except as provided in clause (ii), any alien convicted of, or who admits having committed, or who admits committing acts which constitute the essential elements of-

(I) a crime involving moral turpitude (other than a purely political offense or an attempt or conspiracy to commit such a crime), or

(II) a violation of (or a conspiracy or attempt to violate) any law or regulation of a State, the United States, or a foreign country relating to a controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802)), is inadmissible.

(ii) Exception.-Clause (i)(I) shall not apply to an alien who committed only one crime if-