Company to split, Attorney says no H1 transfer required to work for new company, ????

vj66321

Registered Users (C)
I have been working for my current company for 2+ years now. My team is being spun off as a new company , old company will hold some stake in it.

My parent company has also sponsored for my green card, 485 is pending (less than 180 days).

I have to move to the newly spun company along with others.

My Attorney says,

I dont need a H1 transfer to work for the new company since its a split from the parent company.

He says I can continue to work for the new company with the old H1 approval and stamp.

My Visa stamp and I -94 will expire in May 2008, I have 1 year more and 6 more months of recapture time left in my H1.

While applying for a H1 extension, attorney says we will explain the change to USCIS and that USCIS will accept this.

Can someone please comment on what the Attorney says. Will there be any impacts if I follow what he says?

I have been working for my current company for 2+ years now. My team is being spun off as a new company , old company will hold some stake in it.

My parent company has also sponsored for my green card, 485 is pending (less than 180 days).

I have to move to the newly spun company along with others.

My Attorney says,

I dont need a H1 transfer to work for the new company since its a split from the parent company.

He says I can continue to work for the new company with the old H1 approval and stamp.
----but for new Company you dont have H1? your H1 is for A not for B
My Visa stamp and I -94 will expire in May 2008, I have 1 year more and 6 more months of recapture time left in my H1.

While applying for a H1 extension, attorney says we will explain the change to USCIS and that USCIS will accept this.
------------------Can he/she give the guarantee in writing to you? Ask for it. Few months back I read a case that because of the mistake of attorney one became out of status and had to leave US