Canada targets H-1B Visa Holders

sandipchowta

Registered Users (C)
Hello All. This forum has been very helpful in order to get information regarding citizenship. However i just recently came to know that if you have a H1b visa in US then you can get a canadian green card in 8 months.

I wanted to know if it is legit or not and shall i apply for my canadian citizenship or green card. Here is my background. I have been in US for 7 years and completed my bachelors and working for a company over here who have sponsored me. I got my H1 last october.

I have seen people working in US for almost 8 years on H1 and still their green card is in process. Just to be on the safe side someone told me that i should apply for canadian green card or citizenship which i can get it pretty sooner. I work as a software developer in US. Is it possible for me to apply for canadian GC or citizenship and i don't have to go to Canada for it as stated in that URL. How long the application takes it to process ?.

If i get my canadian citizenship or GC can i still work for the US company and can still apply for American green card ?

Thanks for reading and awaiting response.

First of all, you don't apply for a Canadian citizenship. You apply for permanent residence in Canada and you will get it if you qualify. It allows you to work and live in Canada permanently. There are costs involved, check this website:

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/index.asp

As a Canadian resident there is no benefit with regards to working in the US unless you spend enough years in Canada, qualify for and obtain Canadian citizenship. After you become a Canadian citizen you can come in and work in US on a TN visa.

There is nothing magical about H1b status in US for Canadian immigration. Their process takes 8-12 months if you qualify.