Can I apply for a J1 waiver from a 3rd country (Australia)?

messymess

Registered Users (C)
I worked as a researcher for three years in US on a J-1 visa with the 2 year restriction. I'm currently working in Australia but thinking to come back to US in future. Can I apply for a waiver now? (without a H1 visa offer). What Indian Embassy (in Australia or in USA) do I need to contact?

Thank you for your help.

I worked as a researcher for three years in US on a J-1 visa with the 2 year restriction. I'm currently working in Australia but thinking to come back to US in future. Can I apply for a waiver now? (without a H1 visa offer). What Indian Embassy (in Australia or in USA) do I need to contact?

Thank you for your help.

You can apply for waiver from anywhere you like and you do not need an H offer to apply. What you need is a reason (logic) to convince the US that this waiver is an important according to your field. May be someone else can help in the part of Australia

Keep in mind that to fulfill the 2 years you have to spend them in your country of residence. Just outside the US isn't enough.

Thank you for your answers.
I'm trying to find out how to proceed. It seems that those of us outside US are all quite lost... I've written at the Indian Embassy in Washington asking if I can apply for the NORI and WAIVER certificate from abroad, I'll post the answer. Anybody from India tryed the 'designated ministry' path?

From http://travel.state.gov/visa/temp/info/info_1288.html
* No Objection Statement (NOS):