B2 visa pending for 17 months

ajnabhee

Hello,

Thank you in advance for your time. I am desperately looking for a direction to proceed with my dad’s B2 visa application that is pending for the last 17 months and any information, advise or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

I am a permanent resident of US living in California for the last 12 years. My mom and dad, who live in Chennai, India applied for B2 visa at the US Consulate in Chennai last year so they can visit me. They both had their interview together on the same day with the same officer. My mom got her visa approved on the day of her interview. My dad has not received his visa yet and it has been 510 days and there is no update as of today. We have contacted VFS and the US Consulate in Chennai numerous times over the last one year but always received their standard, vague response which does not tell much on the status of case and neither tells us what to do next.

Please advise…
  • If my dad applies for another B2 application while the current one is still pending. Would that help or make things worse?
  • If there are any legal procedures, like the Writ of Mandamus, that we can use to force the consulate to make a decision on this case.
  • Would hiring an immigration attorney help with this case?
  • If this case can be escalated to higher authorities at the consulate. If so, please advise on how to proceed
  • If this is the end and he should give up on his plans to visit me.

Below is the chronological order for my dad’s visa processing.

DateDays since applicationStatus
14 Feb 20110 daysB2 Visa Application Submitted
10 Mar 201125 daysDad attended visa interview at Chennai Consulate.
Case status set to Pending Administrative Processing - 221(g)
11 May 201187 daysOnline case status changed to “SEND PPT”. Also received an email from ChennaiSAO@state.gov with below content...