B2-Tourist Application in Sydney : Admin Processing

Ashk81

Hi All,

I am a permanent resident of Australia and hold an Indian passport. I've applied for a B2-Tourist VISA on 8th March 2013 to visit the USA for a few weeks around the Easter period.

I've appeared for the interview at Sydney Embassy on 20th March. The consular officer asked a handful of questions, about the type of VISA I hold to stay in Australia, overall duration of my stay here (4.5 years), the purpose of the visit to the USA (tourism), places which I would possibly stay at (multiple as I intend to visit 2 states Utah and Arizona) and finally the nature of my work (IT Consulting), total experience (8 years) & my highest qualification (Masters in IT).

Bizarre enough, however I wasn't asked for, and even when I tried to give her the employer reference (suggesting my employer and the salary figures) and my bank statement, she didn't bother to look at them. She preferred to chat instead.

She then asked to send my CV/Resume through email, gave me a white 221(g) paper and kept my passport.

Since then, the status of the application is Admin Processing and hasn't budged a bit.

I've read the horror tales of this mirage named 'Admin Processing' on this and several other forums, and everywhere it is repeated that there are no timelines for this process to get through.

However is that only me who has been into this odd situation where an IT guy has been asked for CV/resume and further Admin Processing for a B2 VISA?

Anyone having a similar experience and would like to share please?