Am I Eligible---please help!!!!!!!!!

svreddykooturu

Registered Users (C)
Hi,
I have been a permanent resident since 2001 but was out of the country for couple years.

Since 11/23/2003, I have been living here in USA (physically present) except for 341 days from 7/20/2004 to 6/27/2005 (less than one year) I lived in India to complete by medical school. Since then (almost for 41 months) I have NOT left the USA for more than 6 months.
I meet all other criteria for Naturalization eligibility.

Given the above information, will I be eligible to apply for Citizenship now?

Thanks in advance!

am i eligible for citizenship?

Hi,

What exactly do you mean by 4 years and one day. Isn't it for people who left USA for more than on year.

Based on my application since Nove 2003, I have not left more than a year.
Wouldn't I be eligible now?

What exactly do you mean by 4 years and one day. Isn't it for people who left USA for more than on year. Based on my application since Nove 2003, I have not left more than a year.

Any absence of six months or greater (not one year) is presumed to have broken continuous residency, unless you can prove otherwise. Can you? Did you maintain a residence or have family ties in the US during that absence?

An absence from the US of more than six months breaks your continuity of residence for naturalization purposes.

By staying overseas more than 6 months you broke your continuous residency. You can try to convince CIS that you did not intend making India your home.

You will need to wait 5 full years so you will be eligible to apply on 06/26/2010 - 5 years...counting from the date of return which is 06/27/2005.
(the 90-day rule doesn't apply for broken continuous residence).

Note: Oddly enough, the 4 years + 1 day rule only applies for absences of 1 year or more.