6th year, LC applied but in BEC, changing job!!

jlsu

Registered Users (C)
I'm in quite a sticky situation here and would really appreciate any advice/suggestion:

My H1-B expires in Sept 1, 2007. My current company applied for LC in March 2004, but it's in the backlog. I'm in a bad situation in my current job and am seriously thinking about switching. My questions are:

(1) Can my new employer file for H1-B extension based on the LC filed by the current employer back in 2004? Or do I have to stay in my current job and wait until my current employer files an extension for me. And I switch jobs after the extension is completed.

(2) Is there any way I can keep my PD of March 2004?

(3) The inital filing was under EV3. However, I've read that after 5 years of work experience, I can qualify as EV2. After I switch to the new employer, can they file new LC under PERM as EV2? Or can they use my old LC filing and change the category to EV2?

Thank you soooooooooooooooo mcuh!!

1) Should work.
2) Wouldn't say impossible, but pretty difficult in this circumstance.
3) EB category is not determined by your experience. It is determined by the job duty. If job duty requires EB2 skill and you can provide that service, you can file for EB2.

Thank you, GotPR!!

As for point (1), can I switch now to the new company and then have them file H1B extension based on the old LC application, or is there such a rule that you have to have your extension approved before you can switch jobs if this is the 6th year?

For point (2), what might be a possible way of keeping the PD date?

Your answers are greatly appreciated!

Technically, LC is not necessary from H1 sponsor. You can get 7th year H1 UNLESS current employer revokes or substitute LC to other person.

You need to have I-140 approval to retain PD. In this circumstance, your old employer must keep your LC as well as filing for I-140, which is a little awkward as you have already left the employer.