NZ PhD Student Visa, 5 Month Processing time

Hi guys!

I've got myself in really awkward situation. I'm a PhD student in NZ and decided to visit my family in my home city. Wasn't aware of IPG and stuff, because I got my previous PhD student visa through the university since I have been already in NZ.

So, I happily arrived home, applied for renewal of my PhD student visa through the branch of Immigration NZ in Moscow. They got it on 30th of August 2012. On 14th of September I got that all my docs were sent to that IPG.
It's so much frustrating news for me. I am already a PhD student, studied for one year and thought that the application for renewal from offshore just as easy as onshore. It was a huge big mistake. I am from Siberia and was going to spend here just one month. Now I need to wait, probably till the end of Oct and winter is quickly is coming here. All my things is in NZ in my flat. Gosh.

Never anybody apply for renewal of PhD visa offshore. It's a huge big mistake. The worst thing is that I have a signed contract with deadlines, and had some presentations that now I need to cancel.

I hope this my post will serve as lesson for somebody and will help.

P.S. Didn't know that NZ is so paranoid about PhD. Btw, I am from Russia.

BTW Have you guys filled the form INZ1200. Only me thinks that that form is bloody crazy?

Last edited by a moderator:
L1 Visa - Not used - Back to Home employer - Can I reuse my visa

Hi I got approved L1 visa in 2010 but not used.In 2011 I have resigned my job from the company and joined in another concern. My home employer sent an email to USICS to cancel my L1 Visa. I was marked in the Email. But No reply to that email.After one year I have joined back to my Previous Employer. Can I use the L1 Visa now? I still have one more year to visa expiration and the Stamping is available on my Passport.

Can you please confirm, either can I use the L1 visa now or Do you thing Is there a chance for cancellation in USICS system?