• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

Marital status

Hi All

I have recently won the green card lottery. When I originally entered the e-dv, the instructions were very clear about stating you are unmarried when in fact you are married. Since I sponsored my fiancé under the common law spouse relationship in Canada (I am a Canadian permanent resident), I decided to err on the side of caution and I stated my marital status as married and listed my partner's details. Now that I have won, I am reading more about the process and I am scared I will be disqualified for misrepresentation.

To be sure, I am going to marry my fiancé legally ASAP (we will be married before our interview), but what can I do to increase my probably of not getting refused? At the time I entered the lottery, I had already sponsored my fiancé as a common law spouse and I have plenty of proof.

Any help or suggestions would be very much appreciated.

There are conflicting opinions here.
Some are that incorrect marital status is automatic disqualification.
Others (including me) believe that leaving off a dependent is automatic disqualification, but adding in someone - especially if it is the someone you end up presenting for a visa - isn't.
So... Is the visa fee worth you taking the chance to find out? (If so please report back!!)
I think that if you have "official" evidence of her being a common law spouse that will definitely help your case.

Hi SusieQQQ

The visa fee is definitely worth the chance. The money is not the issue (although I am not rich by any means).

I have a job from a fortune 500 company in the USA that will be more than happy for me to work at their headquarters should I get a green card. Everything else works out perfectly (regarding the requirements, my education and ability to support myself cannot be faulted).