FBI name Check Pending

Frustration

Hello, it's my first time posting here. I am the USC wife of a British immigrant. We filed our I-485 in January of 2004 with the VSC. It was subsequently moved to the Baltimore field office. We received notification of our interview, which we attended in May of 2004. At that time, we were approved pending the outcome of the name check :( . We have called, written and had appointments through Infopass to address the problem. All with the same answer- background/name/security check is pending. My husband renewed his EAD in March. No problem with that.

The beginning of this month we had an appointment at the Baltimore office and were told that they need his fingerprints again due to expiration of the ones they took in May of 2004. When we asked if there was anything else outstanding, the officer said no that everything looked ok but they needed the fingerprints done again. Three days later, my husband went in to get the fingerprints done (of course they couldn't take them while we were there for our appointment). Since then we have not heard anything from them.

Yes, it is frustrating. For us, it has been 19 months since we applied for AoS and 15 months since our interview. My husband has a somewhat common name and is from the UK. His country of birth is the UK. So it seems that the ineptitude of the Department of Homeland Security is to blame for the ridiculous wait times. I do have to say that I am very concerned when something this simple cannot be done in a reasonable amount of time.

I'll post any updates.