YYZ vs Peace Bridge

Hi all,

I've heard from many that YYZ is particularly difficult for TN visa applications; is this true? Would there be an advantage to trying the Peace Bridge instead?

And if I cross at the Peace Bridge, am I able to do so on foot, and then catch a taxi/Uber on the Buffalo side?

Are you living in US or Canada. If in canada, you need to fly out of YYZ to get a TN.

I am a Canadian resident. Can't I make my application as I cross into the United States at the Peace Bridge POE? I will be catching an Uber on the other side to Buffalo, where I will fly to New York (where my job is.)

@laundry:
Yes, you can. I was referring to getting a TN at YYZ, which you can only get if flying out of the country. Why not just fly from YYZ to New York?

I've also heard the above - fwiw I flew from Toronto to Newark and got my TN 2 years ago at the Newark customs office. Not sure if it's the same now though. The first time I got my TN it was at the land border in the Niagara region. 2 years ago the immigration lawyer recommended Newark bc at the time land borders were stricter so I went that route.

Not sure how that's changed now so would be curious to see what others say.

Also - I'd be curious about the border crossing by foot part also --- what bridges in the Niagara region allow crossing by foot for TN applications? Has anyone done that?

thank you!!

@CdnVa
Not getting the TN at YYZ when flying to US is VERY unusual. That is the whole purpose of having US CBP at YYZ and other Cdn airports; once you land in US you do not encounter CBP. In 20 years this is the first I've heard of it -- Unless you flying out of Island airport
Could you elaborate on how you proceeded, both at YYZ and at EWR? I'm curios.

@latenight
But once you factor someone driving you to border, and Uber from border to BUF, is it worth it?

@CdnVa