what to tell to immigration officer?

viral_doshi24

i am a medical graduate from india.i have B1/B2 vis of 10 yrs[muliple entry]
i want to go to u s a to give usmle step2 cs exam which is held only in u s a and also want to do observership for 2 months.one the question in my mind is what to tell immigration officer if they ask purpose of my visit? should i disclose real intentions or ishould i tell that i am coming here for visiting different places? is it legal to give exam on this visa? many of my friends have given exams and they have told immigration officer that they are going for giving exams and they are allowed to enter USA to give exam but there have been cases in which people have been deported back to home country on telling that they are going to give exam.i am very confused regarding this matter.please help.

The answer is very simple. You need to say the truth. What was the reason you gave on the Visa application form?

Viral,
Two rules to abide by when communicating with an USCIS/ICE/CBP officer:-
(1) Never lie
(2) Never volunteer

Just yesterday I returned to Chicago from a business trip from London (UK). As soon as I got to the booth at O'Hare, I handed my passport to the officer. He took it, scanned it, stamped it and returned it to me within 15 seconds without saying a word. So I also kept totally silent.

B-1 visa holders are eligible
to study in the U.S. IF THE STUDY IS INCIDENTAL TO
THE PURPOSE OF TRIP. Moreover, there are limitations
to such studies in that the studies must be of short
duration (under 18 hours a week). If the primary reason
for visiting the U.S. is to engage in studies, such persons
might consider applying for an F-1 or B-2 visa

port of entry

Hi,