What can I do in this situation

APISSUE

Immigration Gurus Please help.

My current situation:
My passport was stamped visa with company A and visa expired 2003. They reapplied new H1 which will expire in Aug 2006 (my passport didn't get stamped). I changed to company B with using this H1 and applied LC (approved),140 (approved) filed I 485 (approved AP and EAD 485 still pending). I got some family emergency I need to travel. And I do have the following questions.

If I use the advance parole to reenter United States, does this have any impact on my H1b status after I come back. Will the H1b status be still valid after the trip? And if yes can I change to a new company??

AP overrides H1 status...

AP overrides H1 status...
You can transfer to NEW company but you need new 140; But your OLD labour PD can retained.

I am not a lawyer....
APISSUE said:
Immigration Gurus Please help.

My current situation:
My passport was stamped visa with company A and visa expired 2003. They reapplied new H1 which will expire in Aug 2006 (my passport didn't get stamped). I changed to company B with using this H1 and applied LC (approved),140 (approved) filed I 485 (approved AP and EAD 485 still pending). I got some family emergency I need to travel. And I do have the following questions.

If I use the advance parole to reenter United States, does this have any impact on my H1b status after I come back. Will the H1b status be still valid after the trip? And if yes can I change to a new company??

It is true that one is a Parolee upon using AP to re-enter the United States. However, for those with H1B or L1, the Dual Intent Memorandum (http://www.shusterman.com/hlmemo500.html) states the following.

4. If an H-1 or L-1 nonimmigrant has traveled abroad and reentered the United States via advance parole, the alien is accordingly in parole status. How does the interim rule affect that alien's employment authorization?