US Citizen.. Been in India since 1985..

pareshshenoy

Registered Users (C)
Hi all,

I am a US citizen( DoB : nov. 5, 1982). I was born in New York City, and I hold a valid and legal US passport. Both my parents are Indian. We moved back to India in July 1985, and have been residing here ever since. We are currently staying in Bangalore, India. I have done all my schooling and education in India itself.

I have decided to pursue my higher education ( MS , Computer Science Engineering ) in the US. I have got an admit from University of Illinois, Chicago.

I have a few questions:

1. Will I have any advantage over other international applicants / students w.r.t financial aid in my university ? I will not be on a visa of any kind when I am studying , so will this make me eligible for off-campus job/internship oppurtunities immediately (i.e, in the first term itself)?

2.Will I be eligible for any additional kind of aid / grants?

2. Also, I have heard from people that it is much easier for a US citizen to land a job than an international applicant. Is this just a notion, or do companies pick people based on their strenghts/merits? Because doing an MS involves a lot of investment, and it would make sense for me to do so only if I am able to leverage the US citizenship to some extent... else I would be content with a job in India itself.

Awaiting replies at the earliest.

Regards,
Paresh.

Paresh,

This is not the forum to ask questions about student aid, but neverthless

1. Yes. You are eligible for all offcampus jobs,some univ's give Assistantships (TA/RA/GA) to US citizens/Residents ahead of intl students. Check with your department.
2. File FAFSA immediately. You will get loan money (interest free while in school). Pell Grants may be available. Federal work study too is available. You will get free money if you parents (of you since you are an "independent" student) have low income