Some J1 Questions - 12 month Work/Travel Visa

thoroughly

Hi there,

I'm due to enter the US from Australia on the J1 12month Work/Travel program available to Australians/New Zealanders. The information available about this visa is limited as it is relatively new - essentially it is an extension of the summer work travel program that has been around for awhile. I am a recent university graduate who would like to gain work experience in the US, specifically in New York.

Here are my questions:

1) My sponsor has told me that my visa will actually only be technically valid for 4 months, but that provided I don't breach any rules on the J1 Visa I can extend my visa for 8 months further while in the US. Does this sound correct? I haven't read this anywhere else.

2) Exactly how difficult is it to change employers while on the J1? My sponsor will be the YMCA international. I don't think I want them to organise employment for me as I want to gain experience in a specific field and they tend to organise jobs in ski resorts and theme parks. What happens if I don't find a job after 10 days? Do I just have to notify them? What if I want to work several jobs while in the US? And are there any limitations on the type of work I can do?

3) How do I find out if this particular J1 (Student Work-Travel) is subject to the 2-year HRR? I am thinking that I will try and get sponsored on the E3 after my year if I decide to stay. If this is the case, and it looks likely that I can get a sponsor, and the HRR applies to me, should I start applying for a waiver 6 months into my trip?

4) Has anybody had any experience specifically on a Student Work J1 visa (as opposed to just studying / researching?) I am technically no longer a student (but still applicable from one as I only graduated university recently). So I don't want to study, only work.

I'd be really grateful if anyone has any thoughts or advice! This forum is such a wonderful service - thank you!