Sofware Engineer - immigrate to Canada

Software_Eng

Hi everyone,

Perhaps this question was asked before, but I just couldn't find anything that fits my description. I need to ask someone with experience for help and a bit of guidance.

I am EU citizen, age 25, married to an EU citizen. I'm a software engineer with a proof of career track of 4 years. Unfinished university education (2 years out of 4, started working early).

Wife has a Master degree. We also have a child, less than 2 years old, American citizen. We lived for 3 years in the US and don't have a track of overstaying or being illegally there.

We don't speak or write French.

What are our options for immigrating to Canada? As far as I know, they are two (for us):
1. Skilled workers and professionals - ht tp://w ww.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/skilled/index.asp
2. Quebec-selected skilled workers - ht tp://w ww.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/quebec/apply-who.asp

Which one of the two I have better chance with? If I go for #2, could I move out of Quebec later, and when?

The way I understand the process for #2 is:
1. Apply to Quebec government for a certificate of selection (Basically - does Quebec want me). Here is the first question. Do they accept Software Engineers (Programmers, Developers)?
2. Apply to CIC for residence. So that's a second iteration of assessment? What is to be expected here?
3. Medical - it's ok
4. Criminal - ok
5. Funds - we have enough savings

Correct me if I am wrong and please share experience with that option. Also, where would I apply? Should I send documents to Canada, or to my 'local' office? It makes a difference, as processing in Canada takes significantly less time, as far as I know.

Now for the first option - Skilled workers and professionals.
That's for example if I want to live in Vancouver. Who can apply?
ht tp://w ww.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/skilled/apply-who-instructions.asp#list