Should I bring this car or not?

khanazar

Registered Users (C)
Hi all,

I am planning to go to work in Atlanta in next few months.
I have a Toyota Matrix (sorry fixed 2005 instead of 1995) model with 50000km on it.
I still owe 15000 to toyota canada. I was thinking to take it there.
I was told by someone that I should not do this because car with Canadian
plates is not safe in some states of US.
Any advice?
I also have another question about tax ?
If i work in USA as a consultant, I know my taxes will be deducted and I have to
file taxes in Canada as well. So can I claim my expenses while filing taxes?
expenses like rental, travel, etc.
Thanks in advance.

Azar:confused:

Last edited by a moderator:
Are you really sure you owe $15,000 on a 12-year-old car? Or is it a 2005 model? The first place to ask about taking the car to the US is Toyota Canada, since until you pay it off, they own it. Some finance companies balk at the idea of their cars being taken out of the country, because if the purchaser stops paying, the international border presents complications for repossession and/or lawsuits. Maybe Toyota won't mind, but you won't know till you ask them. You'll need a letter of compliance from them anyway in order to import the car to the US.

What do you mean when you say it might not be "safe" to have a car with Canadian plates? You'll be importing the car and getting Georgia plates within a few weeks, so I wouldn't worry about it. I had an Ontario-plated car in Texas for a few weeks, and I didn't feel unsafe. BTW, check the Georgia dept. of motor vehicles web site to find out what you'll have to do to get your car titled, registered and plated and insured there. The rules and timelines vary from state to state.