Resident with no citizenship - curious!

valerit1

Registered Users (C)
Ok, here is a challenging question! I am a permanent resident since 04/2001 (well, still no card, but it is irrelevant here). The country I used to be a citizen of when I came to USA does not exist any more,
broken into several independent states. My passport expired long ago(but was stamped and restamped). So, I am a countryless person now. The place where I was born and used to live belongs to a different state now - but I do not even speak the official language of it, wrong nationality (actually, my blood is very mixed) - so, the new country is quite alien to me. All my family is in the USA now, no relatives left there. All the states my former country has broken into are just as alien to me as any foreign country now. But I am supposed to be a citizen of some entity, am I not? Can I choose a country, or am I forced to accept the citizenship of the state on the territory I used to live? Can I get the USA citizenship now to fill the void? Anyone knows about a similar situation?
Thanks,

Val

Sounds unlikely...

You probably have to go through all the same hoops as the rest to get a US citizenship. I don\'t think being stateless is a recognized reason for getting a US citizenship. (Think of the thousands of Palestinians in the US). It seems logical though that you should be be able to get a passport of one of the many new countries that constituted your ex-country, even while you continue to live and work in the US.

legally your citizenship will depend on the laws of the land of your birth