Possible to avoid 2yr return by changing home country citizenship?

CAMSCI

I'm a foreign Fulbright PhD student in US and subject to 2 yr return rule

I'm considering last resort tactics if my waiver applications are not successful.

I might have an opportunity to live and work in a third country.
Is it possible to get out of the fulbright 2yr home rule by living in a third country, getting residency and citizenship there (3-5 years), then applying for US residency (and then citizenship) through the third country? (I'm married to a US citizen).

Has anyone heard of that? Would I have to renounce my home country citizenship? If I did that and just took the third country citizenship, would that get me out the rule?

When you accepted the fellowship, you knew the requirements for home residency. Just fulfill you obligation and then your wife can file for your green card. It will be faster and far less suspect.

What exactly are you trying to avoid here? Leaving the US or not returning to your home country?

Is it possible to get out of the fulbright 2yr home rule by living in a third country, getting residency and citizenship there (3-5 years), then applying for US residency (and then citizenship) through the third country? (I'm married to a US citizen).

Has anyone heard of that? Would I have to renounce my home country citizenship? If I did that and just took the third country citizenship, would that get me out the rule?

I am trying to avoid going back to my home country.

I will try the waiver route first. But if that doesn't work, I want to do whatever I can to avoid the 2 return rule.

Triple Citizen, did you use this process? How did you get three citizenships?
Did you complete the 2yr return rule? Did you have to deal with fulbright?

Any advice for this last resort scenario of mine?

I'm a foreign Fulbright PhD student in US and subject to 2 yr return rule

I'm considering last resort tactics if my waiver applications are not successful.