planning to marry in the US, but not remain - how to enter?

gortivy

Here's my situation, I'm currently in New Zealand. I've been out here on the working holiday visa scheme for the past 9 months. I am from the UK, and my fiance is from MA. We have been together for 4 years now, and we plan to marry in September in the US, but the I will return to the UK shortly afterwards and begin the application for my fiances to live and work in the UK, and she will be coming to the UK in Jan 09.

Basically I will be entering the US under the visa waiver scheme, but with complete honesty, I will state that I am intending to marry, but not to remain. I have my plane ticket home already, which is my first line of proof, but after speaking with the San Francisco Port of Entry Officer two days ago, I will need more. First of all has anyone else had this issue before? Basically I need more proof that ties me to the UK, but this is difficult as I have been traveling for 9 months and don't have an apartment or job to walk back into. I have a couple of jobs that I will possibly have temporarily when I get back that will happily write letters up for me to say I will work there when I return but I'm not sure if this is enough. I was thinking of getting a letter from my parents, stating that I will be living with them temporarily when I return while searching for my own place and working, will this help?

Also, I have had advice from some people that I do NOT need to state I am getting married - only say that the purpose of my visit is to visit people, and not give out more info that asked. IS THIS LEGAL? (not just your opinion) I may want to apply for US citizenship in years to come, and do not want to mess things up by doing something wrong now!

Does anyone have any other suggestions? Or has anyone every had to deal with this before! I just don't want to be refused entry and sent back to England right now!

THANKS, and sorry this is so long,

Gary