Parallel Green Card Processing - Is it okay?

Madhusudan Chaganthi

Registered Users (C)
Hi
I finished my Masters here and I have been working on a H1 \'B\' in US for almost 3 years. Meanwhile, my employer has started on my GC processing. Finished the LC process 6 months ago.
I recently got married to a US citizen and I would like to apply for a family based GC too through her..
Can I process 2 different kinds of GC applications at the same time or should I give up one of them?
Hoping to hear soon from someone.
Thanks
Madhu

Same boat

Hi Madhu,

I am in the same boat, my 485 has been almost a year, I should get my GC sometime in Jan or Feb (at least that is what I gather from the processing times), but now I am thinking that I should apply through my wife (who is a US citizen). I spoke to a couple of lawyers and they said that I can apply and neither of them will get affected. But they said that since I am so close to getting it, it would not serve any purpose.

I am going to meet with another lawyer and confirm.

But I do have this to say, you get your citizenship in 3 years if you are married to a US Citizen instead of 5 if you go through employment. From what I understand you still get it in 3 years if you are married to a US citizen and got your GC thorugh employment. That is what I am going to find out and what I want to know.

Found out more

Hello,

I spoke to 4 lawyers, and 3 of them tell me that if I get my GC through employment I can still get my citizenship in 3 years because I am married to a US Citizen.

Any one know any different ?

Thanks

No Title

here is what N-400 says:
you may apply for naturalization if:
... y you have been a permanent resident for 3 years, have been married to a United States citizen for those three years, and continue to be married to that US citizen"
It does not say anything about "obtaining permanent residency thru your spouse".

I think you are good

No Title