OPT process length at Texas Service Center??

aayusu01

Registered Users (C)
I am an F-1 student that applied for OPT. The Texas Service Center sent me a receipt and SRC number on April 28. I will start work in June 14; is there any way to expedite the process? My employer sent a letter to expedite the process to the Texas Center. Do you think I will receive my EAD card before that?

I am thinking of calling immigration to look up my case. Please let me know your thoughts on this matter.

Processing time varies a lot depending on which service center and the officer you get. USCIS recommends at least 90 days for processing, but they are not bound by any specific timeline for issuance of your EAD.

From my experience, Post-Graduation OPT takes longer to process. Which type of OPT are you applying for?

Hi All,
I've applied for OPT on April 24, 2009 at Texas Service Center and my start date was May 21, 2009 but have not received authorization yet. I also got a offer from university with a start date of june 16. Could somebody tell me if I can expedite this process at TSC? If expedition is not possible then how long should I wait to get authorization?

I am applying for a post-graduation OPT. It has been a month already and my employer is wondering whether if I should work or not because the EAD card has not arrived yet. I am really nervous 'cause I will start work in 2 weeks! I will call immigration today and see what can be done. What has other people experiences been like?

Thank you.

NKaur, I think you can expedite the process if you call 1800-375-5283 and say you need to expedite because of financial reasons or that you will lose the job offer. This is what I am going to do! Maybe it will work (fingers crossed) Will you start your job in May?

The expediting process is solely discretionary, but certainly it can't hurt anything by requesting it especially with a job offer and a start date.