NIW without a lawyer

zombi

NIW without a lawyer: Approved ?

Does anyone know whether it is okay to file Green Card Application under NIW category without a lawyer. I am new to this Green Card and Immigration stuff and dont have enough money to spend on lawyer so would like to know the pros and cons of filing a Green Card by myslef under NIW catgory. Do you think it will ever get approved and what would be the chances.

Please share your or your friends experiences !

Has anyone done this and gotten success or this is too weird question?

Thanks !!!

Last edited by a moderator:
zombi said:
Does anyone know whether it is okay to file Green Card Application under NIW category without a lawyer. I am new to this Green Card and Immigration stuff and dont have enough money to spend on lawyer so would like to know the pros and cons of filing a Green Card by myslef under NIW catgory. Do you think it will ever get approved and what would be the chances.

Please share your or your friends experiences !

Has anyone done this and gotten success or this is too weird question?

Thanks !!!

An attorney is not a requirement to file any type of petition.

Brian

I would NOT do a NIW without a lawyer (my personal opinion!).
Yes, you could do it (it is not mandatory), but in fact it is very hard and you must spend a lot of time to prepare your petition yourself.
I would do NIW myself only if I would feel very confident about myself - but I am not a Nober prize winner, nothing like that...
I had no money when I started my green card story..but you always can look for a better fees etc... ask your friends.. get monthly payments... and I think I-140 is for what you need a lawyer. Some lawyers charge separate for I-140 and I-485, you can go with I-140 first and when approved, you can do I-485 yourself...