Need back up plan!

toro45

Registered Users (C)
I just recently got my H1 petition approved and I am an electrical engineer who works for a small engineering and management cosulting firm. As we all know about the ups and downs in the economy right now I just wanted to know what, other people who are foreign workers had as a back up plan, in case of job loss. I am currently preparing to take the LSAT and tha't for admission in the fall of 2004, what I am looking for is a more immediate back up.

Is there a way I can look for work without my boss knowing I am doing this. If he finds out I am looking for a job outside ,he might fire me.

Can I use the current H1 I have now to work with another company? or does the company have to re-apply for me. If I loose my job, do I have a grace period to look for another job.

going back to my home country is not an option for me. any advise will be appreciated.

Thanks.

Originally posted by toro45
I just recently got my H1 petition approved and I am an electrical engineer who works for a small engineering and management cosulting firm. As we all know about the ups and downs in the economy right now I just wanted to know what, other people who are foreign workers had as a back up plan, in case of job loss. I am currently preparing to take the LSAT and tha't for admission in the fall of 2004, what I am looking for is a more immediate back up.

Is there a way I can look for work without my boss knowing I am doing this. If he finds out I am looking for a job outside ,he might fire me.

Can I use the current H1 I have now to work with another company? or does the company have to re-apply for me. If I loose my job, do I have a grace period to look for another job.

going back to my home country is not an option for me. any advise will be appreciated.

Thanks.