Naturalization Certificate needed for?

usa_ctzn

Registered Users (C)
I have a semi obvious question... I'm now a US Citizen, what use is the naturalization certificate to me? What do we need to keep it for?

Proof of citizenship. That's like saying "I'm a college graduate now, what is the use o this diploma they gave me?"

Proof of citizenship. That's like saying "I'm a college graduate now, what is the use o this diploma they gave me?"

good analogy... the paper is not the important part, its your status. the certificate is only proof of that status.

Proof of citizenship? Isn't that a passport? So the only reason to keep the certificate is so I don't have to apply for a new one before getting the passport renewed/replaced? Cuz it's not like if you use the certificate your not a citizen anymore, u can just get a new one.

Proof of citizenship? Isn't that a passport?

A passport expires.

So the only reason to keep the certificate is so I don't have to apply for a new one before getting the passport renewed/replaced?

No, it is to prove your citizenship. Applying for a passport is just one of its functions. It is stupid to throw away your Certificate of Naturalization and to then apply for a new one, pay the fee, and then wait for 6 months. Do you routinely throw away important documents after you've used them once?

Cuz it's not like if you use the certificate your not a citizen anymore, u can just get a new one.

What does this mean?

No, it is to prove your citizenship. Applying for a passport is just one of its functions. It is stupid to throw away your Certificate of Naturalization and to then apply for a new one, pay the fee, and then wait for 6 months. Do you routinely throw away important documents after you've used them once?

Are u serious? Course I don't throw important documents away, I'm was not planning to throw the certificate away either, it's just a question.